Notice Of Annual General Meeting

The Salmon Arm Folk Music Society Annual General Meeting will be held online on February 10, 2021.    A zoom link will be sent out to active members a few days prior to the AGM. The AGM zoom room will be open at 6:30 pm and the AGM will begin promptly at 7:00pm.

Only active members of the Salmon Arm Folk Music Society are allowed to vote at the AGM.   Memberships will not be sold at the AGM. If you are interested to vote at the AGM you must buy a $15 membership before 3pm on January 28, 2021 Buy membership Click here.

All candidates interested to be on the Board of Directors must be an active member of the society and are required to submit in writing their intention to be considered a nominee for the AGM election by January 27, 2021.

Please submit nominee declarations and application directly to the email:   All nominees must submit a biography and CV to be included in the election information pack to be on hand during the AGM.

The election has four director positions open to be filled.  The SAFMS governance committee is encouraging nominees with the skills and experience in finance, legal and sponsorship to apply.  The Board of Director elections will be held during the AGM.

Notice Of Annual General Meeting

AGM Board 2019 Cropped Web 1024x549
Steve Atkins 150x150

Steve Atkins

Director Lead/ Scolarship and Strategic Planning Member of HR

About Steve

Steve was first elected to the Board of the SAFMS in 2015. He is a former teacher and school administrator with a life long passion for live music and the arts in general.
Alan Bates 150x150

Alan Bates

Director/Vice Chair Lead Audience Education Member Infra Structure HR and Environment

About Alan

Alan has been a member and big fan of the Festival since moving to the Shuswap in 1995. He is an amateur musician with a deep interest in live music, from around the globe.
Head Shot Deb 1 150x150

Debbie Cannon

City of Salmon Arm Representative

About Debbie

Debbie is the City of Salmon Arm Council representative. Debbie recognizes the economic and cultural value it brings to Salmon Arm. Debbie has volunteered and attended the festival for years.
Valerie Ellis Peet 150x150

Val Eills Preet

Director Lead/Audience Education Member Volunteers/Audience Education

About Val

Valorie enjoys the experience of community and passion for culture for people and artistic expression. Val's aim is to build teams for a safe, friendly successful event.
Kimm MaGill Hofmann3 150x150

Kimm Margill-Hofmann

Director/Board Chair Lead Volunteer Committee Member Strategic Planning

About Kimm

Kimm' strength she brings to the Board are her years as a volunteer and she is looking forward to continuing her work as part of the Volunteer Support and the Strategic Planning Committees.
Elaine Holmes 150x150

Elaine Holmes

Director/Secretary Member of Volunteer

About Elaine

Elaine is is a full-time teacher and a part-time musician. Passionate about creating a culture to give patrons, musicians or volunteers, an experience that is uplifting and memorable.
Bernd Hermanski 150x150

Bernd Hermanski

Director/Sponsorship Committee Member of Infrastructure and Culture

About Bernd

Bernd has spent many years as a volunteer director on local boards, including 30 years with the Salmar Community Association. He is now in his 21st year as a director with the Salmon Arm Folk Music Society.
Doug Hearn 150x150

Doug Hearn

Director Lead/Environment Committee Member Strategic Planning. Infrastructure and Volunteer

About Doug

For 24 years Doug has participated in the growth and development of the Festival as a Volunteer and Board Member. His focus is to foster a sustainable future by strengthening the Volunteer Experience, Artistic Values and Environmental impact.
Brook Roberts 150x150

Brook Roberts

Director Lead/Human Resources Committee and Member of Finance

About Brook

Brook looks forward to continue his commitment to work closely with the Board of Directors and staff to improve and strengthen community relationships, to develop and support future endeavours of the Society.
Rob Marshall 150x150

Rob Marshall

Director Lead/Merchandise Member of Government/Sponsorship

About Rob

Rob is Executive Director at Community Futures Shuswap. He has been a supporter of the Salmon Arm Folk Music Society for several years and joined the Board of Directors in 2017. He contributes to the Governance and Sponsorship Committees.
Joyce Keronas 150x150

Joyce Kenoras

Director Member of Government/Merchandise

About Joyce

Joyce, a member of the Secwepemc Nation, with ties to the Sylix Nation, has volunteered in the community for years. Dedicated to promoting diversity in music and culture; and brings a sense of traditional grounding and outreach to the Festival.
Ian McDiarmid 150x150

Ian McDiarmid

Director Lead Infrastructure Committee

About Ian

Ian has served on the board 17 years. He continues building the festival expanding multicultural experiences throughout the region and building relationships with community partners.
Brenda 150x150

Brenda M'Clellan

Director/Treasurer - Lead/Finance

About Brenda

Brenda has volunteered with the Roots and Blues for over 8 years. She is the treasurer with an accounting background.

In January 2020 the Directors meet with staff to conduct a strategic planning session with the goal to improve the Festival in three major areas: 

  • Community  Engagement
  • Sustainability
  • Production Value

For 2018 the Board developed a revised strategic plan.  Click HERE to review the 2018 strategic plan.   Beyond simply filling a spot on the Board each Director has a specific area of focus to improve the Society and event experience.Currently there are twelve Board Level Committees: Each Board Committee is led by a Board Director,  staff representative and may include a volunteer at large.

  • AUDIENCE EDUCATION Lead Alan Bates – Val Ellis-Peet, Brenda M’Clellan
  • COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT  Lead Joyce Kenoras –  Elaine Holmes
  • ENVIRONMENT Lead Doug Hearn L– Alan Bates, Ian McDiarmid
  • FINANCE Lead  Brenda M’Clellan – Brook Roberts
  • GOVERNANCE  Lead Valorie Ellis-Peet – Joyce Kenoras,  Rob Marshall
  • INFRASTRUCTURE  Lead  Ian McDiarmid – Doug Hearn, Bernd Hermanski,  Alan Bates
  • HUMAN RESOURCES  Lead Brook Roberts – Steve Atkins, Alan Bates, Ian McDiarmid
  • SCHOLARSHIP  Lead Steve Atkins
  • SPONSORSHIP  Lead Bernd Hermanski  – Rob Marshall
  • STRATEGIC PLANNING   Lead Steve Atkins – Kimm Magill-Hofmann,  Doug Hearn
  • VOLUNTEER  Lead Kimm Magill-Hofmann – Doug Hearn, Val Ellis-Peet,  Elaine Holmes
  • MERCHANDISE Lead Rob MarshallJoyce Kenoras

Interested in becoming a Board Director?    Click this Annual Director Application to download the application to be a nominee at the next Annual General Meeting.